Subject Guides: ENGL/WGST 471: LGBTQ Literature: Find Books and other background resources

Books, E-Books and Media

You can also search directly from the library catalog for books, both electronic (e-books) and paper (print books) on your topic.

E-books are indicated with this icon and will have an "Access web version" link to view the book

Print books that can be checked out will have a call no. and location in the library

Select Encyclopedias and Handbooks on gender studies (all e-books):

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide by Chuck Stewart (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780313342318
Publication Date: 2009
Overview of key issues in the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780684312613
Publication Date: 2003
A comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by Jodi A. O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781412909167
Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society provides users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research (SAGE website, 2018)
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies by Kathy Davis (Editor); Mary Evans (Editor); Judith Lorber (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780761943907
Publication Date: 2006
The Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies presents a comprehensive and engaging review of the most recent developments within the field, including the study of masculinity, the feminist implications of postmodernism, the 'cultural turn' and globalization (SAGE website, 2018)