Dr. Wraight's Recommended Websites
Casebook.org: the world's largest public repository of Jack the Ripper-related information. Start with their Frequently Asked Questions before moving on to the Introduction to the Case and their new Photo Archive. This should be considered your "go to" website for finding Ripper related primary sources, including case files, press reports, and photos. You may also use two (2) of the many secondary sources on the website.
Jack the Ripper.org: this "Whitechapel Murders History Resource" contains many of the same resources as casebook.org
The Contagious Disease Acts (1864, 1866, 1869) (full text online): text of legislation passed by British Parliament between 1864 and 1869. The Contagious Disease Acts were designed to stop the spread of venereal disease between female prostitutes and members of the British military.
The Malden Tribute of Modern Babylon: The Report of our Secret Commission (by W.T. Stead, in the Pall Mall Gazette, July 6, 1885): contains the full text of W.T. Stead's report on prostitution in London, as published by the Pall Mall Gazette in 1885.
The history of Britain covered by the British Broadcasting Company (BBC).
History of the United Kingdom provides a searchable database of primary documents covering all of British history. This web site is provided by Brigham Young University.
VictorianWeb is a searchable database with a mixture of primary and secondary texts covering this period. Most topics are covered here.
Victoria Research Web is one more option with a comprehensive topical coverage of Britain.
British History Online: “British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research.” Contains links to court records, local histories, church records and land surveys covering the entire modern period.
The Victorian Women Writers Project: “The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.”
In addition to these web sites you may consider browsing the web sites of some of the British universities for online collections. Try: Oxford University, University of Cambridge, or University of St. Andrews.