Subject Guides: AAAS/HUM/HIST/SOC 304: Find Articles

Articles--locate articles from these databases

ARTICLES

The library has article databases to locate articles on a topic. The databases are found in our Find Databases by Name link. lif you know the name of the database you want, start there.

If you do not know what database you need, look at the Database by subject list and locate your subject. If your subject is cross-listed (like this course!) try several subject database suggestions to locate articles.

ProQuest Research
ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
JSTOR
Covers many subjects, including history, literature, religion.
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance with coverage back to 1973

Newpaper sources

Michigan Newspapers
Recent coverage of about 150 Michigan newspapers, including the Detroit News (1999 - present), Flint Journal (1995 - present), Grand Rapids Press (2000 - present), Kalamazoo Gazette (2005 - present), Oakland Press (2004 - present), and Sagniaw News (1998 - present).
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of ProQuest's Historical Newspapers collection, including The Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Ethnic Newswatch
Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native People.
Access World News
Newspaper articles, magazine articles, broadcast transcripts, newswire stories, news videos, and journalist-written blogs from more than 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.

Find a journal

FIND A JOURNAL

Looking for a specific journal? Go to the library's Journals page. Search with BrowZine, Browse by Title or subject.

Most of our journals are available online. You will be able to view the article online, or print it out later. If it is only available in print (paper), you will have to scan the article. Scanners are available on the first floor of the library, in the computer area outside of the Library Research Center.

For journals we don't subscribe to, we can obtain the article from other libraries. See our Interlibrary loan services for more details (the article service is free, unless we have to scan/photocopy it from a paper journal).