This introductory course provides an overview of topics encountered in government or nonprofit administrator positions. Topics emphasized in the seminar include decision making, finance, human resource, leadership, performance, accountability, organizational responsiveness, and strategic management. (F,YR)
The first step in doing research or writing a paper is selecting a topic to work on. Sometimes, the topic will be provided to you by your instructor. while other times you will have the freedom to select your own approach to the subject matter. There are several important steps to follow that can help your research be successful.
1. Brainstorming:
Take a good look at the assignment, pay especially close attention to the language your instructor has used. This is important because it is critical to develop a working list of keywords you can employ in various searches. You also want to make certain that the topic or approach you have selected is relevant to the assignment. Your instructor's choice of words can sometime be helpful to you in starting your keyword list.
2. The library:
Once you have a basic keyword list, it is time to go to the library, or at least the library website. Search the catalog and various electronic resources to run searches and start looking at potential resources. Looking at reference works, books, and journal articles at this stage can help you refine your keyword list and further develop your topic.
Look for books and E-Books from the Library Catalog
Look for Journals from the Library Catalog
Look for Databases from the Library Catalog
Literature Review Links: Here are a few links to help with how to review academic materials for relevance to your topic:
Reading critically
Literature Review
Be sure to check out any bibliographies or references from books or articles that are relevant, the authors have done a lot of your work for you!
Off-Campus Access
When you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in to the library's databases with your last name, your 8-digit UMID, and your library PIN.
You can create and change your library PIN online by following these steps:
Click on the My Library Account link
Select UM-Dearborn Student, Faculty, Staff, or Alumni
Enter your last name and your 8-digit UMID
Leave the PIN field blank
Click the Log In button. This will not actually log you in yet; you will still need to create your PIN
The page will refresh, and you will need to re-enter your last name and 8-digit UMID
The form will include two PIN boxes: create your PIN in the first box and verify your new PIN in the second box
When you click the Log In button the second time, your PIN will be created and you should be taken to your library account
Contact the Library Info Desk at 313-593-5559 during regular library hours if you have any difficulties setting up your library PIN online.
On-Campus Access
There are three (3) Wi-Fi networks on UM-Dearborn campus. Make sure you're connected to the UMD-Secure wireless network. It is the only that allows you to connect to online library resources without looking like you're off-campus. There are two ways to access to the UMD-Secure wireless network:
To connect to UMD-Secure on your Chromebook, follow the instructions on the Connecting Chromebooks to UMD-Secure handout.
Using the list of keywords and search terms you have developed, search through the many relevant databases the library offers. Most of the databases are defaulted to keyword searching , but you can generally qualify a search (subject, title, author...) to get more specific results. Putting a search term in quotations will search the database for that phrase, rather than the individual keywords. For example, a search using the two keywords public and administration will produce different results from a search using the phrase "Public Administration." I highly suggest running both searches! Try as many combinations of keywords and phrases as you can to get more specific results. The same method can also be used when searching for books and e-books in the library catalog.
Look for books and E-Books from the Library Catalog
Look for Journals from the Library Catalog
Look for Databases from the Library Catalog
These sources of data for your research project will help you get underway. Once you read through journal articles and start collecting books you will be ready to get deeper into your topic. A few more things to remember:
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary loan is for:
Books, dissertations, and microforms not available at the Mardigian Library, the University Libraries in Ann Arbor, or through the Michigan Electronic Library (MeLCat).
Copies of periodical articles or a single book chapter.
The Mardigian Library has partnered with MLibrary Document Delivery (MLDD) in Ann Arbor to provide interlibrary loan service to the University of Michigan-Dearborn. MLDD also serves the University Libraries in Ann Arbor and the Thompson Library at UM-Flint.
Check the Library Catalog (books) or Summon (books, journals, e-resources) to make sure the Mardigian Library does not own the material before placing your ILLiad request. If the title is available in the Library Catalog you should place a Hold Request for the item.
For assistance with interlibrary loan requests, please contact the MLDD office in Ann Arbor at 734-764-8584 or via email, interlibrary.loan@umich.edu.
Things to remember about interlibrary loan:
Try MeLCat first for faster delivery of books and A/V items.
The library cannot hold on to items indefinitely. Please pick up items within 10 days. Unclaimed items will be returned to the owning library.
Please do not wait until the last minute to order your items.
Patron information is confidential in compliance with the library's User Privacy Policy.
All items checked out from University Libraries in Ann Arbor can be returned to the Mardigian Library at the main service desk.
Please do not return ILL, MeLCat, or Askwith Media items through campus mail.
If items are lost, you will be charged for replacement of the item, plus a processing fee.
If you project is focused on a more historical or political science approach, please feel free to ask me for assistance in your research project! The best way to get me is to make an appointment or to stop in my office in the Library Research Center in the Mardigian Library. I am in office 1260. My e-mail is cspilker@umich.edu and my office phone is 313-593-5614. I am happy to help you get started or to refine your searching methods as you get further along in your project. If your project is focused on business or economics, please contact Joan Martin in the Library Research Center: martj@umich.edu or 313-593-5618, or stop by her office in the Mardigian Library, room 1153c.
