Finding Historical Newspapers for the HIST 359 Paper
You can access full-text of many major newspapers using a couple different research databases on our library (Mardigian Library) website. If you are accessing them from an off-campus computer, you’ll need to enter your uniquename & ID number, along with a pin number. Follow this link to learn how to establish a library Pin number.
The database and method that I most recommend is:
Proquest Historical Newspaper database. This database searches major newspapers such as The New York Times as well as African American newspapers and small town newspapers. From the Mardigian library homepage, select the “Database” button. Under “Find Databases by name,” select P. Scroll down to find Proquest Historical Newspapers. Click on “Proquest Historical Newspapers,” at the top of the list. It will take you to a screen that allows you to simultaneously search all of the newspapers in its archive. However, you can also click on different newspaper links (such as The Detroit Free Press) to search only in that particular newspaper. Select Advanced Search to put parameters on your search, especially to select a range of dates.
For student pursuing Paper Option A: select one of the newspapers contained in the Proquest Historical Newspaper database. (Note the years covered in each newspaper’s holdings.) Click Advanced Search. Under Publication Date, select On This Date, and enter your birthday and a year. Click on one of the articles that comes up (doesn’t matter which one). Then click “Page View - PDF”. Then you will be able to navigate through all of the pages in that newspaper issue.
However, you can also try using:
Summon: Near the top of the library’s home page you’ll see a box that says: “Search for books, journal articles, and more....” Enter a search term in the box and this will take you to a screen where you can refine your search. I suggest clicking on “Advanced” just to the right of the search bar at top. Here you can enter multiple search terms, publication date range, and content type (choose Newspaper or Newspaper article). ; on the left side of the page, under “Content Type”, de-select “Any” and select “Newspaper Article”.
Another newspaper database on our library’s website is:
NewspaperARCHIVE: This subscription database searches mainly small town newspapers, and its coverage is spotty. From the library homepage, select the “Database” button. Under “Find Databases by name,” select N. Scroll down to find NewspaperARCHIVE. The database organizes its newspapers geographically. I suggest getting to the Advanced Search screen. For students pursuing paper Option A: Once you locate an article within a particular newspaper, you should be able to navigate through the entire newspaper issue.
Note: if you try to access this database without signing in through our library’s website, you will not be able to see the full contents of its archive.
The only newspaper database outside of Mardigian Library that I recommend is:
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (hosted by the Library of Congress): https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov
As with NewspaperARCHIVE, the Chronicling America database mainly searches in small local newspapers. For students pursuing paper option A: Once you locate an article with a particular newspaper, you can click “All Pages” near the top, and it will show you thumbnails of all the pages in that newspaper issue.
