Subject Guides: CRJ 487/587: Forensic Science: Find Laws, Data & Statistics

Nadine Anderson, Behavioral Sciences and Women's & Gender Studies Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

4021 CASL/1153B ML
nfanders@umich.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral and Biological Sciences, Criminal Justice, Faculty Resources, Food Studies, Integrative Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Women's & Gender Studies

Find laws, statutes, regulations, and cases, as well as data and datasets

Federal and State Laws, Statutes, Cases, and Regulations

Nexis Uni: includes law reviews, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations. For search help, go to their Search Tips page.

U.S. Government Publishing Office (govinfo): free, public access to official publications from Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches of government. For more info and search help, go to their Help page. Collections include:

Public and Private Law: searchable compilation of federal laws in force, available in full-text. For more info and search help, go to the Help page for this collection.
Statutes at Large: searchable compilation of all laws and resolutions passed during each session of Congress. For more info and search help, go to the Help page for this collection.
United States Code: browse the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, divided by broad subjects into 53 titles. For more info and search help, go to the Help page for this collection.

Statistics, Reports, and Datasets

Department of Homeland Security: Datasets on immigration, immigrants, and refugees. For help, see their FAQs page.

TRAC Immigration: Datasets on the criminal enforcement of US Immigration Law. For help, see their TRAC Help page.

PEW Social and Demographic Trends: Datasets from studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives. Includes datasets on Hispanic immigration attitudes and trends from the PEW Research Center's Hispanic Trends Project.

Sage Stats (library database): includes datasets that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas dating back more than 20 years. Topics covered include crime, social welfare, population, education, and more.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: includes over 2,600 curated studies and datasets. It includes several large-scale and well-known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), and the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). For help, see their FAQs and User Support contact page.

National Institutes of Justice: Datasets from research projects funded by the National Institutes of Justice. For help, see their Accessing and Using Research Data page.

Bureau of Justice Statistics: Datasets on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. For help, see their Help for Using BJS page.