Student Associations & Internships - COMP 280 - Business Writing - Subject Guides at University of Michigan-Dearborn

Organzations and Associations

STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS AND ASSOCIATIONS

Find a student business organization to join. Learn more about your major by meeting other students and sharing your interests!

Below are some selected business/management associations:

COB Student Organizations
Find select organizations for COB students. Each one has a COB advisor.
Gale Directories (library database)
Includes Encyclopedias of Associations - search for this in the drop down menu. Locate student chapters, student associations, in business
SRBA (Student-Run Business Association)
(From the website): Dating back to 1894 at Cornell University, student-run business organizations (“SRBOs”) have enabled students to learn leadership, entrepreneurship and excellence by operating real businesses in the real world. Originally, SRBOs formed to help students pay tuition. Now, they are the most advanced tools for hands-on, experiential business skills learning, employing thousands of students and generating tens of millions of dollars in revenue each year.

INTERNSHIPS

Gaining professional experience through Internships

"An internship is a short-term job, often unpaid, that gives students and other adults hands-on work experience.

Internships are available in a wide variety of fields in government, private business and non-profit organizations. In general, an internship:

Is an agreement between a student (high school, college, or graduate) or adult and an organization or business.
Allows a student or emerging professional to gain skills and experience in a short-term, real-world work environment.
Can be paid or unpaid.
Has to follow certain regulations of the Fair Labor Standards Act." (Careeronestop.org, retrieved 9/20/21)

Listed below are library databases and other web resources you can use to find internship ads and listings.

GoinGlobal (library database)
Career and Employment Resources including:
• Country Career Guides
• USA City Career Guides
• Job Postings and internship listings
• H1B Visa Employers
• Key Employer Directory
USA Career Guides (library database)
Explore career and employment opportunities in the largest cities across North America. Includes: business and networking groups, job search resources, cost of living data, and more. H-1B employer listings are included in each City Guide, as well as a state-by-state roster. Go to the "Internship Search" tab to start your search.
Internship Programs
Search for current internship openings.
SimplyHired
Use business internships in your search to find matching internship positions. There is also a section to set up a job alert if you seek certain positions.
Indeed.com
Search for employment opportunity in all areas. Set up "alerts" that match jobs you are seeking, including internships.. Use "business internships" in your search for list of opportunities
USAJOBS
U.S. government job website, including internship listings

Internship and Career Management Center - College of Business

Explore the Internship and Career Management Center for internship and co-op opportunities for COB students.