Music Research Resources

The Mardigian has many resources, including articles, ebooks, streaming video, audio, and more! Many of these resources can be found inside of databases that collect and organize the resources into related collections. 

Some databases are more general, while others are very specific. Try searching in the databases listed below:

Recommended Databases

Alexander Street Databases include collections of documents, articles, videos and audio recordings, including:

• Black Thoughts and Culture -- non-fiction published works of over 400 leading African Americans. Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.
• Music Online: Classical Music Library -- Recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, and Vox. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g., Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. More than 7,400 albums with 135,000 tracks are included and it is added to regularly.
• Music Online: Opera in Video -- 500 hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music includes entries that cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present, spanning jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) includes several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, and provides full text for more than 140 of them, covering many aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.

JSTOR includes journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences.

Naxos Video Library includes over 1,375 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, films, and musical tours of historic places. 

Oxford Handbooks Online provides authoritative guides to many fields, including music.

Oxford Music Online provides access to the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive international guide to writings about music since the early 20th century., including bibliographic information and full text of articles, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

RIPM Jazz Periodicals provides a full-text, full-image digitized collection of over 100 jazz journals and magazines published in the United States from 1914 to 2006. The largely rare American periodicals in this resource explore the genre's roots in blues, ragtime, and Dixieland, continuing on through the swing and big band era of the 1930s and 40s, to the birth and development of bebop, West Coast jazz, cool jazz, and free jazz.

Rolling Stone Archive covers Rolling Stone magazine from its launch in 1967 to the present. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.

Browse more databases that include musical topics on the library website: https://library.umd.umich.edu/find/databases.php?cat=Music