BA 330 (Fischer) - Managerial Communications

Along with using Mardigian Search, you can explore within specific library databases. Below are suggested databases divided by category. You can see the full list of databases you have access to through the library on the databases page. See the Search Tips by Scenario page of this guide for specific suggestions for each scenario. 

Below are recommended databases for finding articles from trade publications and newspapers/magazines. 

• Factiva: Along with a wide range of company and industry financial data, Factiva also offers full text articles from a wide range of trade publications and newspapers.
• ProQuest Global Newsstream: Full text from thousands of newspapers, magazines, and trade publications from around the world. Titles include Crain's Detroit Business and the Washington Post. 
• ABI/INFORM Complete: ABI/INFORM provides full text access to a wide range of business, finance, and management publications as well as local and regional business publications, trade and industry magazines, and newsletters. 

Below are a few databases that include articles from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. 

• ABI / INFORM Complete - Covers business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, industry reports, and a wide variety of other topics.
  • You may have noticed this database is also listed in the "popular sources" section - this database includes a wide range of sources, including both trade publications and peer-reviewed journals. 
• Business Source Complete - Contains over 2,000 active, business-related periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, marketing, banking, and international business. 
• Wiley Online Library - Journal articles from Wiley publications in the areas of business, finance and management, education, engineering and sciences, law, and psychology. e-Books published since 2008 are also available.

Below are a few databases with company and/or marketing data. These databases will be particularly valuable for groups who select the Advertising Campaign scenario. 

• Statista: Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Information comes from over 10,000 sources and covers over 600 industries.
• D&B Hoovers: Extensive access to public and private company profiles and regularly updated industry profiles. You can also find information about a particular company's main competitors and SEC filings for public companies. 
• eMarketer: Includes market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies, aggregated from more than 1,700 sources. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
• Vivvix: Formerly Ad$pender, Vivvix is a tool for generating reports on advertising spending across platforms. See how much your competitors or your chosen company have been been spending on advertising, and where they have been focusing their advertising efforts. 
  • Note: This database is a bit trickier to use, so please reach out to your librarian if you need help!