Subject Guides: Research Resources for Education, Health & Human Services (CEHHS): Find Datasets & Statistics

Recommended Library Databases for finding Statistical Information

You can find a full listing of all of our databases for Statistical Information on our Databases Page, but here are a few of our top recommendations:

ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics covered include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.
Statista
Statista provides access to the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Information comes from over 10,000 sources and covers over 600 industries.
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a geographic information system (GIS) used to understand U.S. communities. Included in the tool is access to PolicyMap's extensive data collection, with over 15,000 indicators used to understand communities. These indicators are organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis.
more...less...
Requires VPN.

Finding Health Data & Statistics

NOTE: Access to some federal data has been impacted by the current Presidential administration. If you are experiencing challenges finding federal data, please contact your librarian for assistance.

Census Data (Census.gov)
Census Bureau's Explore Data web page.
HealthData.gov (USDHHS)
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. On this site, you can find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
The data is collected and supplied from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.
Centers for Disease Control
The CDC publishes surveillance and survey data on a variety of public health topics.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
NIH Databases
National Institutes of Health links to all public searchable databases, including PubMed, NCBI and Clinical Trials.
SEER Cancer Statistics (NIH)
The SEER research data include SEER incidence and population data associated by age, sex, race, year of diagnosis, and geographic areas (including SEER registry and county). SEER releases new research data every Spring based on the previous November’s submission of data.
AHRQ Databases
The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provides several databases, including HCUP (healthcare costs and utilization), MEPS (medical expenditures), State snapshots, and infographics created with this data.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Research (Reports and Fact Sheets)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports.
Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to and quality of health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context.
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time. In addition to providing data in an easy-to-use, non-technical format, the purpose of the report is to stimulate discussions among policymakers and the public, exchanges between data providers and policy communities, and improvements in Federal data on children and families.
Data.gov
Repository of federal open datasets collected by the US government under the OPEN Government Data Act.

America's Health Rankings
Search for state rankings, state health statistic overviews, and various health measures by state.
Michigan Behavioral Risk Factor Surveys
Annual, state-level telephone surveys of Michigan residents, aged 18 years and old, which act as the only source of state-specific, population-based estimates of the prevalence of various behaviors, medical conditions, and preventive health care practices among Michigan adults.
State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)
Provides free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on more than 800 health indicators for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, and territories.
State Snapshots (Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health)
National and state-level profiles on health-care system quality and performance, health status and disparities in child health across populations, and specific health problems and conditions.
Michigan HHS Reports & Statistics
The Department of Health & Human Services is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level.
State of Michigan Open Data Portal
View and analyze data provided by a variety of Michigan state agencies in one easy to view catalog. Create charts and graphs, filter and summarize data, and develop maps with the open data.
Michigan Environmental Public Health Tracking
The MiTracking Program gathers existing Michigan-specific environmental and health data and provides them in one online location. Results are provided in tables, charts, and maps that can be downloaded, saved, and printed.

Data USA CIty Profiles (MIT)
Consolidates data from a variety of US government databases into city profiles which include health and safety, housing and living, economic, demographic, and education data.
Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE) Program
The U.S. Census Bureau’s Small Area Health Insurance Estimates program produces the only source of data for single-year estimates of health insurance coverage status for all counties in the U.S. by selected economic and demographic characteristics.
Big Cities Health Coalition City Data
The Big Cities Health Coalition (BCHC) is a forum for the leaders of America’s largest metropolitan health departments to exchange strategies and jointly address issues to promote and protect the health and safety of the 61 million people they serve. Our city data dashboard is a unique dataset comparing cities across more than 120 living conditions and health factors that shape residents’ lives, from smoking rates, to sexually transmitted diseases, to chronic diseases, to housing status.
Michigan Community Health Information
This page provides health statistics tables for Michigan and its counties, health departments and cities.
City of Detroit Health Department
Includes annual reports and health data for the Detroit population.
City of Detroit Open Data Portal: Health
View data related to health from the City of Detroit's Open Data Portal.
Data Driven Detroit Open Data Portal
Data Driven Detroit is a worker-owned cooperative dedicated to provide accessible, high-quality information and analysis to drive informed decision-making. They provide free public access to a variety of processed datasets, maps, visualizations, and other tools. Topical areas include Health, Education, Public Safety, Transportation, Environment, and more.
County Health Rankings
Includes county data on health rankings, health factors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment.
Wayne County Health Dept. Data & Statistics
Health data & statistics from the Wayne County, MI health department.
Oakland County Health Data & Statistics
Health data and statistics from the Oakland County, MI health department.
Macomb County Health Dept. Data & Statistics
Health data and statistics from the Macomb County, MI health department.

Kaiser Family Foundation
Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
more...less...
Website.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
RWJF is a private, philanthropic foundation that is dedicated solely to health.
more...less...
Website.
The Commonwealth Fund
The Commonwealth Fund is a private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults.
more...less...
Website.
Think Tank Google Search (Harvard)
A custom Google search box created by Harvard university to search over 600 think tank websites.
Rand Corporation
RAND is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank that conducts research in a range of fields, including Health, Education & the Arts, and Population & Aging, among others.
Bipartisan Policy Center
As the only Washington, DC-based think tank that actively promotes bipartisanship, BPC works to address the key challenges facing the nation. They are currently focused on health, energy, national and homeland security, transportation, the economy, housing, immigration, and governance.
Prevention Institute
Prevention Institute is a nonprofit that focuses on the prevention of disease, violence, and injury.
Center for Strategic & International Studies
The Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) is a bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, D.C. The Center's 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change. (Their health focus is primarily on Global Health.)
Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, D.C.. One of Washington's oldest think tanks, Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development. (Their health focus is primarily on Global Health.)
March of Dimes Peristats
Aggregating data from various government organizations, PeriStats provides access to the most current maternal and infant health statistics on topics such as preterm birth, infant mortality, tobacco use, Cesarean births, and health insurance coverage. Detailed information by race, ethnicity, and maternal age for many indicators is also available.

NOTE: Access to some federal data has been impacted by the current Presidential administration. If you are experiencing challenges finding federal data, please contact your librarian for assistance.

National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (CDC)
The National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network (Tracking Network) brings together health data and environment data from national, state, and city sources and provides supporting information to make the data easier to understand. The Tracking Network has data and information on environments and hazards, health effects, and population health.
EPA Data
Explore and interact with data resources from the US Environmental Protection Agency.
Michigan Environmental Health Data (MDHHS)
Links to data provided by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS).

For additional resources related to environmental health data, please see:

HHS 250: Intro to Environmental Health
by Raya Samet Last Updated Feb 3, 2025 10 views this year

WHO Global Health Observatory
Global health statistics and data on a variety of diseases, including reports on many global health themes and problems.
Global Health Data Exchange
The Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of global health and demographic data. The goal of the GHDx is to help people locate data by cataloging information about data including the topics covered, by providing links to data providers or explaining how to acquire the data, and in cases where we have permission, providing the data directly for download. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health.
Data.gov.uk
Data published by United Kingdom government departments and agencies, public bodies and local authorities.
Canadian Open Data Portal
Data portal for Canadian government information.
European Union Open Data Portal
Openly available datasets from European Union governmental bodies.
Global Open Data Index
The Global Open Data Index (GODI) is the annual global benchmark for publication of open government data, run by the Open Knowledge Network.

Finding Education Data & Statistics

NOTE: Access to some federal data has been impacted by the current Presidential administration. If you are experiencing challenges finding federal data, please contact your librarian for assistance.

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
U.S. Dept. of Education Data
Data & Statistics page for the U.S. Department of Education.
Education data from the US Census
The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time. In addition to providing data in an easy-to-use, non-technical format, the purpose of the report is to stimulate discussions among policymakers and the public, exchanges between data providers and policy communities, and improvements in Federal data on children and families.
Data.gov
Repository of federal open datasets collected by the US government under the OPEN Government Data Act.

MI School Data
MI School Data is the State of Michigan's official source for pre-K, K-12, postsecondary and workforce data to help residents, educators and policymakers make informed decisions to improve student success. The site offers multiple levels and views for statewide, intermediate school district, district, school and college level information. Data are presented in graphs, charts, trend lines and downloadable spreadsheets to support meaningful evaluation and decision making.
Educational Entity Master
The EEM is a searchable database of Michigan education facilities. You can look up contact information for a school or district, search by location, create mailing lists, request predefined datasets, and more.
MI State School Aid & School Finance Reports
The Michigan Department of Education reports related to School Aid and Finance.
Michigan Education Data Center: Datasets
Overview of datasets provided through the University of Michigan MEDC covering early childhood and K-12 research topics for the state of Michigan. To request the use of Michigan’s education data researchers should complete an application, which will be reviewed by the Michigan Education Research Institute (MERI).

Note: If you need non-aggregate data for program evaluations or studies, please visit the MDE Office of Evaluation, Strategic Research and Accountability website or email mde-research@michigan.gov. Rigorous data use, storage and destruction policies must be met before data are provided. Confidential data are masked by research identification codes and file layouts modified for research purposes. Common users include researchers doing national studies or performing program evaluation across several entities in Michigan.

If you need data not available in MI School Data, EEM, or MDE's Publications and Reports, please complete the CEPI Data Request Form.

City of Detroit Open Data Portal: Education
View datasets related to Education from the City of Detroit's Open Data Portal.
Data Driven Detroit Open Data Portal
Data Driven Detroit is a worker-owned cooperative dedicated to provide accessible, high-quality information and analysis to drive informed decision-making. They provide free public access to a variety of processed datasets, maps, visualizations, and other tools. Topical areas include Health, Education, Public Safety, Transportation, Environment, and more.
Data Driven Detroit Early Childhood Portal
Data and visualizations related to early childhood in Detroit.