Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBR 465: Literature for Children

This course, designed for librarians, supervisors, and teachers in the elementary school, is about the evaluation of books for children aged three through twelve.

Finding Children's Books

Children's books in the Mardigian Library catalog:

Juvenile Historic Collection - The Mardigian Library has over 8,000 children's books in its collection. Approximately half of the collection is comprised of historic juvenile titles. There are several ways you can locate these titles:

  • Browse our collection in person. The historic titles have a green dot on the spine.
  • View information about our Juvenile Historic special collection on the library's web site or through the College of Education, Health and Human Services guide to the Quigley Collection.The largest donation to this collection was made by the Grand Rapids Public Library and is called the May G. Quigley Collection.
  • Go to the library catalog keyword search screen, type in a search word or two, and limit the location to Juvenile Historic.

CEHHS Curriculum Lab - You can look up books in the curriculum lab using the library catalog by choosing the location CEHHS Curriculum Center.

MeLCat - Search for items from other Michigan libraries

Interlibrary Loan Information

UM-Ann Arbor and Flint Libraries

Dearborn Public Library - has an extensive collection of children's literature. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Dearborn is eligible for a free library card.

 

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us