FIND AN ARTICLE
Find articles for your topic, using these databases. (Additional databases are found on the library's subject page under English and Literature).
MLA International Bibliography - Subject index for books, articles, and websites published about modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Coverage is worldwide with the majority of records from English-language publications.
Periodicals Archives Online - an index to more than 3 million articles in more than 700 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 2000 or later. Many older journals not indexed electronically anywhere else are included.
JSTOR -Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present.
ProQuest Research Library - includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Humanities Source - covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary) - OED provides a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
NON-LITERARY DATABASES
If you need to research your topic from a historical perspective, try these:
Historical Abstracts with Full Text - Coverage of the history of the world from the 15th century to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). More than 2,300 journals published from 1955 to the present in more than 40 languages are covered.
America: History and Life with Full Text - Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Over 1,700 journals published from as far back as 1910 to the present are included.
SpringerLink - Covers mostly science and engineering, but also literature and humanities.
Search Journals
Looking for a specific journal? Go to the library's Journals page. Search with BrowZine, or Browse by Title
Selected journal suggestions for this course:
Most of our journals are available online. You will be able to view the article online, or print it out later.
For journals we don't subscribe to, we can obtain an article(s) in it from other libraries. See our Interlibrary loan services for more details.
