Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CRJ 417/517: Crimmigration

Research Guide for CRJ 417/517

Access Library Resources Online

Trying to access library resources online? Follow the instructions on the Online Access to Library Resources page to access library databases, articles, and ebooks, both on-campus and off-campus.

Useful Databases for Michigan History Research

America: History and Life with Full Text: Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 

JSTOR: Journal articles from core scholarly journals in disciplines like history, economics, political science, and sociology.

The Michigan Chronicle, 1936-2010Provides searchable, full-text access to the full archive of the Michigan Chronicle. This newspaper offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Great Migration and Civil Rights to the election of America's first Black president. Explore nearly nine decades of everyday life as written from the perspective of this Detroit-based paper providing researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources.

Proquest Historical Newspapers: Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of ProQuest's Historical Newspapers collection, including the Detroit Free Press. 

Social Explorer: Social Explorer contains data from the first Census in 1790 to the present day. Using their data, the user can generate maps of population or specific demographic variables by location, as well as reports. It is important to remember that it can be difficult to map demographic data over time, since the questions asked and methods used have not remained consistent.

Useful Encyclopedias for Michigan History Research

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us