In this radical revision of her engagement with the culture and politics of her age, Peter Knox-Shaw argues that Austen was a writer steeped in the Enlightenment, and that her allegiance to a sceptical tradition within it, shaped by figures such as Adam Smith and David Hume, lasted throughout her career (Syndetics, 2018).
Call no. PR4038.P5 K68 2004 4th flr
With a wealth of details about Jane Austen's life and times, this volume brings to life the world of her novels. Austen scholar Deirdre Le Faye first gives an overview of the period, from foreign affairs to social ranks, from fashion to sanitation. She goes on to consider each novel individually (Syndetics, 2018).
Call no. PR4036.L424 2002 4th flr
The essays collected in Jane Austen and the Arts; Elegance, Propriety, and Harmony examine Austen's understanding of the arts, her aesthetic philosophy, and her role as artist. (Syndetics, 2018).
Call no. PR4036 .L424 2002 4th flr
Jenkyns's sparkling study delights in Austen's craft, wit, and pathos, and explores the subtlety, depth, and innovation that forever mark her out as a supreme storyteller. A Fine Brush on Ivory will enhance the admiration and pleasure of all those who enjoy Austen's work. (Worldcat.org, 2021)
E-book; click on book cover
BOOKS
Books can give you an overview of your topic. You do not necessarily have to read the entire book, just enough to support your assignment. Many of our (print) books have a link to the table of contents or summary of the book to help you determine if it will be useful. For e-books, you can download individual chapters or entire books (depending on what ebook database you are using).
If you have a specific title or author you are looking for, use the library catalog to locate books or media (e.g. DVD's) on your topic. Books in our collections are a mix of print (paper) and electronic (e-book).
From the main library webpage at the 
tab, to begin a search..
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND HANDBOOKS
Encyclopedias and handbooks can be useful for an overview of a topic. While you would not use information from an encyclopedia or handbook in a bibliography of a research or essay paper, you can use them to get information on a topic you are not familiar with before you start your paper.
In the resources listed below, search for information on Jane Austen as a subject, her specific works, etc.
The Oxford Handbook of the Eighteenth-Century Novel by 
Jane Austen in Context by 
All things Austen : an encyclopedia of Austen's world by 
