Federal and State Cases, Laws, Statutes, and Regulations
Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL): the compilation of Michigan laws in force, arranged without alteration, under appropriate headings and titles, and available in full-text. The MCL includes Public Acts enacted by the Michigan Legislature, the Michigan Constitution of 1963, as amended, and Executive Reorganization Orders issued by the governor. For help, see their Help Page with tutorials and FAQs about the MLC as well as contact information for further information and help.
Michigan Judicial Institute: education office of the Michigan Supreme Court, State Court Administrative Office. Includes court rules and procedures, cases, opinions, and orders, as well as publications and educational resources.
Nexis Uni (library database): includes law reviews, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations. For search help, go to their Search Tips page.
Oyez: a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law. A multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
U.S. Government Publishing Office: free, public access to official publications from Legislative, Executive, and Judicial branches of government. For more info and search help, go to the Help page. Collections include:
Crime Statistics, Reports, and Datasets
Sage Data (library database): includes datasets that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas dating back more than 20 years. Topics covered include crime, social welfare, population, education, and more. For help, see their FAQs page for students and researchers..
Detroit Crime Viewer: Interactive crime map (currently in beta phase) that shows where and when crimes were committed. Crimes are color-coded and it displays location, arrest category, report number, and charge description of incidents that happened within city limits. Users can filter results by date and crime, crime type, and also select location by police precincts, zip codes, neighborhoods, council districts, or by searching the interactive map.
Justice Map: Visualize race and income data as well as create and share maps for neighborhoods, counties, states, and the US. For help, see their Help and Instruction page.
Justice Outcome Explorer (JOE): the dashboard leverages billions of lines of raw data from the justice system and blends it with data sourced from the U.S. Census Bureau to produce an unprecedented look at crime statistics and outcomes, to help answer fundamental questions about law enforcement, criminal courts, and correctional supervision and their impact on society. See JOE's About page and FAQs page for more info and help.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: includes over 2,600 curated studies and datasets. It includes several large-scale and well-known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), and the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). For help, see their FAQs and User Support contact page.
National Institute of Justice: The research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science and helping criminal justice policymakers and practitioners stay informed. Includes publications, reports, and datasets from research projects funded by the National Institutes of Justice. See their Topics page and their Library and Multimedia page for more info.
Bureau of Justice Statistics: Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes publications, reports, and datasets from their data collections. For more info, see their Topics page and their Resources page for help and FAQs.
Department of Homeland Security: Reports and data on law enforcement, immigration, immigrants, and refugees. For more info, see their About Data & Reports page.
PEW Social and Demographic Trends: Reports and data from studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives. Includes datasets on Hispanic immigration attitudes and trends from the PEW Research Center's Hispanic Trends Project.
TRAC Immigration: Datasets on the criminal enforcement of US Immigration Law. For help, see their TRAC Help page.
ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Sciences Research): maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR is a unit within the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research and its office is in Ann Arbor. UM-Dearborn is one of ICPSR's 760 member institutions. Check out their Overview & Mission page for more information.
