Skip to main content

LGBTQ Resources & Research

Finding Statistical Data

Sage Stats (library database): includes datasets that span all 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as all counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas dating back more than 20 years. Topics covered include crime, social welfare, population, education, and more. 

Census Data Same Sex Couples: ​census information on same sex couples at national, state, country, and zipcode levels 

LGBTData.com: a no-cost, open-access clearinghouse for the collection of sexual orientation and gender identity data and measures. Also provides analysis, commentary, and "how to" information on effective data gathering. 

Williams Institute - UCLA Law School: UCLA think tank which conducts research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. See Research tab for reports. 

Other Resources

PEW Social and Demographic TrendsDatasets from studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives. 

USA.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from US government agencies, such as the Census Bureau, National Institutes of Justice, and the National Institutes of Health.

Michigan.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from Michigan government agencies

Detroit.gov: includes data on a wide variety of topics from City of Detroit agencies

UN Data: includes official statistics, estimates, and projections produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system.  

United Nations: includes reports by member agencies compiling and analyzing global data in areas like labor, poverty, health, crime & justice, gender equality, and economic development. Use the search box on the top right of the landing page to search for data and reports about your topic.

 

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us