Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BCHM 496 - Complex Systems

A guide that covers using the library's search engine, ScienceDirect, Google Scholar, and SciFinder.

Sample Annotated Bibliography Entries

Book chapter (CSE citation style)

The following annotated bibliography entry comes from the book Nutrition and the Elderly: A Selected Annotated Bibliography for Nutrition and Health Professionals and was modified to match CSE style. Notes: Clearer information about the authors' qualifications and how the article fits the topic of the annotated bibliography should be included. This example is just a summary of the article.

Nordin BEC, Wilkinson, R, Marshall DH, Gallagher JC, Williams A, Peacock M. Calcium Absorption in the elderly. In Nielsen SP, Hjorting-Hansen E, editors. Calcified Tissues 1975. Copenhagen: FADL Publishing, 1975, p. 442-451.

Studies with elderly subjects have shown a significant and progressive fall in calcium absorption with age. Two possible explanations are vitamin D deficiency and acquired "resistance" to vitamin D associated with impaired hydroxylation of 25-hydrocholecalciferol to 1,25-dihydroxycholecalciferol. Data indicate the first appears more likely below 70 years of age, the second more likely a factor after 70. Impaired renal function may be a factor in calcium malabsorption.

 

Journal article (CSE citation style)

The following annotated bibliography entry comes from Annotated Bibliography of Chemistry-Related Pollution Prevention Sources and was modified to match CSE style. Notes: Clearer information about the authors' qualifications and how the article fits the topic of the annotated bibliography should be included. This example is mostly a summary of the article.

Wilcox MF, Koch JG. A freshman laboratory program without chromium. J Chem Educ. 1993:70(6):474-475.

Discusses the problems faced by the Ithaca College chemistry courses that used chromiumVI compounds, classified by Occupational Safety and Health Administration as carcinogenic, and the strategy used to preserve "the solid pedagogy" provided by chromium experiments. Provides two more environmentally benign complexes to replace chromium acac. Also gives experimental details for the following: preparation of tris(Acetylacetonato)manganese(III), colormetric analysis of Mn(C5H7O2)3, preparation of tris(Acetylacetone)iron(III), and titimetric analysis of Fe(C5H7O2)3.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us