Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PAPP 505 Intro to Public Administration

Professor Rumi Sun's course PAPP 505. Fall 2019

Books & background reading sources

BOOKS

Books can give you an overview of your topic.  You do not necessarily have to read the entire book, just enough to support your assignment.  Many of our (print) books will have a link to the table of contents or summary of what the book is about to help you determine if it will be useful.  For e-books, you can download individual chapters or entire books (depending on what ebook database you are using).

Locate print books in the library stacks (shelves) Books that begin with call no. A-K are on the third floor, books that begin L-Z are on the fourth floor.

If you have a specific title or author you are looking for, use the library catalog to locate books or media (e.g. DVD's) on your topic.   Go to the catalog from the main library webpage at the tab, or use the box below, to search for books.
 

 

MeLCat

For books not owned by the library, try MeLCat.  MeLCat is a service where you can borrow books from libraries, both academic and public throughout the state of Michigan.  Search for your book; if available through MeLCat, press the "Get This!" tab, and follow the instructions to make your request.  Books will arrive at the our library (you will be notified when it arrives); return materials to our library; we return it to the lending library for you.

Interlibrary loan ("ILL")

For books and other materials not owned by the library or MeLCat, we can borrow from other libraries, through Interlibrary loan.  You make the request for the material, and we check other partner libraries to obtain the material.  More information on Interlibrary loan ("ILL") here:

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND HANDBOOKS

Encyclopedias and handbooks can be useful for an overview of a topic. While you would not use information from an encyclopedia or handbook in a  written or oral research or essay paper, you can use them to get information on a topic you are not familiar about, or want to learn more about it before you start your paper.

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us