Skip to main content

Remote course support from Mardigian Librarians

In case of prolonged campus/library closure, here are ways that librarians can support your courses.

Keeping current on business news

An easy way to stay abreast of current business news, from viable sources, is to take advantage of the library's current agreement that gives campus-wide online access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Here are directions for establishing an account, if you have not already done so.

NEW YORK TIMES

Note: Access to The New York Times requires an individual account to be created through the library website.
The New York Times provides real time same day access to not only the same articles, features, and images that appear in the print editions, but a wealth of additional learning and information resources, such as: video, audio, graphics, and database content. Please note that access to crosswords or the NYTimes Crosswords app is not included in this subscription.

 

WALL STREET JOURNAL

Note: Access to The Wall Street Journal requires an individual account to be created through the library website.

The Wall Street Journal is a global news organization that provides news, information, commentary and analysis. Published by Dow Jones, The newspaper includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, culture and more.

 

Research Tip: You can use  the Factiva and Nexis Uni databases as an alternate means of searching for recent articles in both newspapers as well as other national and international news sources.

 

 

Ordering books or other materials

If you would to have materials purchased to support your research or instructional needs, please continue to reach out to me through email (martj@umich.edu). Include as much information as you can find about the requested item (title, author, publisher, etc.) and specify your desired format (print vs e-book, etc.). I will notify you when the item arrives and is available for viewing or checkout.

 

Online support for your courses

If you would like online research support for your students as they tackle individual or group projects, please don't hesitate to ask. This includes any of the following tools that would be customized for your course and can be combined or used singularly:

  • Subject Guide
  • Research Tip Sheet to be embedded in Canvas
  • PPT (with or without voice) to be embedded in Canvas
  • Video demonstrating database selection, database searching, topic selection, citing, evaluating sources, preparing an annotated bibliography, etc.
  • I participate in research coaching via the chat function in Canvas
  • Blue Jeans research consultations with students
University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us