American Periodicals - More than 1,000 periodicals that began publication between 1740 and 1900, with coverage extending to 1941. These include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically significant periodicals.
America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts - America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts features oral history video interviews, photographs, papers, correspondence, and ephemera selected from the collections of the National WWII Museum. These interviews offer an invaluable insight into the involvement of American men and women in World War II, both in a military capacity and as civilians on the home front, as well as giving a voice to individuals who immigrated to the United States as a result of the war.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 - The documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the 20th century and beyond. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as are publications by and for LGBTQ people. Extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis is also included. The material is drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups.
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 - Periodicals, books, and pamphlets from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture, Duke University & the New York Public Library. Includes 75 rare periodicals, such as Echoes of the South (Florida) and The Political Equality Series of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. Includes a full run of Town Topics from the New York Public Library. Books cover all aspects of family life and diverse topics from politics to farming. Strong coverage of prescriptive and advice literature, and manuals for domestic management.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online - Books and articles reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights, from 1543 to 1945. Includes more than 4,700 publications from Europe, the U.S., the U.K., Canada, and New Zealand. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist. Many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
Indigenous Peoples: North America - Indigenous Peoples: North America is an extensive historical collection of materials on the indigenous peoples of North America. This resource includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals and photographs. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
Jewish Life in America c1654-1954 - Contains a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society (AJHS) in New York. Personal collections include a treasure trove of letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks, and other materials relating to the late 17th through to the mid-20th century. Organizational content includes papers and documents from a variety of Jewish organizations. Also included are rare printed books and pamphlets from the Soble and Rosenbach collections at the AJHS.
Oxford African American Studies Center - Combines more than 7,500 articles by scholars drawn from reference works. Includes the complete text of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, The Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, plus selected articles from many other reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes more than 1,000 images, maps, charts, tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries.
Race Relations in America - Race Relations in America contains over 100 hours of audio recordings of speeches, photographs, scrapbooks, survey material, and case studies covering the activities of the Civil Rights Movement, the desegregation process, and other relevant events to the story of race in mid-20th century America.
Sex & Sexuality - Sex & Sexuality contains primary sources from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections. They include correspondence, research papers and records covering a spectrum of studies; from criminology, medicine, anthropology and sexology to major institutional developments and research agendas.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - Scholar Edition - Primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, etc. documenting women's activism in public life. Previously inaccessible data and statistics from the publications of local and state commissions on women since 1963 are also included as well as an indexed, searchable online edition of the highly respected, Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (5 vols, 1971-2004).
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean - Contains primary source material from archives in the United States and Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.
