BA 330 (Coon) - Managerial Communications

Browse the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation website for information on:

• Previous grant award winners. The website includes a database of committed grants, which you can sort by topic, grant location, or division. 
• Eligibility standards for grant applications. This page gives more information on what kinds of projects do and do not qualify for Gates Foundation Grants. 
• Articles on current grant funded projects. This page provides news coverage and updates on the progress of currently funded projects.

Candid Resources

One of the best grant resources is Candid, a nonprofit organization that hosts a number of grant-related databases. The library provides institutional access to a number of Candid's subscription-based databases. Use the links below to gain full access to these databases:

• Foundation Directory Online: Search for information about U.S. based foundations and grants.
• GuideStar: A searchable database of more than 1.5 million nonprofit organizations in the United States, including foundations.
• Candid Learning Knowledge Base (web resource): This page provides information on finding grants for your nonprofit. 

Other Resources

The Chronicle of Philanthropy: The newspaper of the philanthropic world. Includes the latest grant-seeking news and resources and access to a searchable database of grant makers, deadlines, and other funding information.

Grants.gov: Frequently updated federal grant information, including information on applying to federal grants, tips for grant writing, and a searchable database of open grants. 

Grantmakers.io: An open access database to help identify grant funders using IRS data. Search for grants or funder profiles.

Charity Navigator: An organization designed to help donors find charitable organizations to donate to. Includes a searchable database of rated, evaluated charitable organizations as well as charities sorted by type. 

Inside Philanthropy Grant Finder: Although this website requires a paid subscription to access most of the content, you can find lists of organizations sorted by issue or geographic location without a subscription. You can use this site to identify grantors, then go directly to that organization's website for additional information.

Nonprofit Works: Resource materials that Nonprofit Works uses or has used in their consulting, training, and workshops, which they make available to nonprofit organizations for use in their planning, fund development, communications, and governance.