HHS 406/506: Program Plan Implementation & Evaluation

PLACES is a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation. PLACES provides health data for small areas across the country. This allows local health departments and jurisdictions, regardless of population size and rurality, to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health measures in their areas and assist them in planning public health interventions.
PLACES provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

The U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality provides several databases, including HCUP (healthcare costs and utilization), MEPS (medical expenditures), State snapshots, and infographics created with this data.

The Michigan Department of Health & Human Services is responsible for the collection of information on a range of health related issues. The information is collected to monitor the general health and well-being of Michigan's citizens. These data are useful for health program development, targeting and evaluation of program progress. The information is used to identify emerging health issues and trends and can be made available for epidemiological research. Statistics are developed from the data collected to provide basic information on these health events in Michigan. The data are provided at the state, county and community level.

The OEMH helped fund stand-alone Behavioral Risk Factor Surveys (BRFS) on specific racial/ethnic populations within Michigan. For full reports and summary reports click on the link above.

Welcome to Michigan Community Health Information on the Web. This page provides health statistics tables for Michigan and its counties, health departments and cities. This web site has tables of numbers, rates and other figures regarding infant mortality, preventable hospitalizations, live births, mortality, population and sexually transmitted diseases.

More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.

Links to the City of Detroit open data portal as well as a behavioral health resource map.

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time. In addition to providing data in an easy-to-use, non-technical format, the purpose of the report is to stimulate discussions among policymakers and the public, exchanges between data providers and policy communities, and improvements in Federal data on children and families.

KIDS COUNT® is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.