Supply Chain Research

Locate professional associations for your subject of interest. Here are a few examples of professional organizations:

Locate additional associations using library sources: Gale Directory Library.  Choose the Encyclopedia of Associations: International, Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional or Encyclopedia of Associations: National in the drop down menu. 

Here is a brief PowerPoint on the Encyclopedia of Associations database:

Below are links to supply chain management and operations job postings. Many of these job boards are hosted by professional associations, so if there is a particular association related to your interest, check to see if their website has a similar job board.

• Association for Supply Chain Management
• American Society for Quality (ASQ)
• Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP)
• Institute of Operations and Research Management (INFORMS)
• Institute for Supply Management (ISM)
• Jobs in Logistics

Industry Research

IBISWorld: The Industry Market Research Reports includes frequently updated coverage on a wide range of US industries. Information includes growth trends, the competitive environment, and key issues facing each industry.

Business Insights Global: Use the “Industries” tab to retrieve industry reports, market share reports or industry essays. Industry reports give the number of companies, number of employees, annual revenue, and NAICS code, among other data.

Company Research

Statista: Find overviews of companies as well as company rankings.

D&B Hoovers: Includes in-depth information on nearly a million companies around the globe. 

GoinGlobal: A career and employment database that includes an employer directory, job postings, and information on employers that sponsor H1B visas.

Orbis: Contains information on about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million U.S. and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies.

• NOTE: Users are required to enter 'University of Michigan' in the 'Enter your organization's name' box to authenticate and use the database.

IBISWorld: Search by keyword, company or NAICS code for industry reports in the U.S. or other markets. Over 700 industries are represented. Each 30-40 page report includes key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, and major industry participants. Assess growth potential in your chosen industry by reviewing iExpert, Risk & Industry Outlook.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics Annual Occupational Handbook: Browse occupations by job type, education level, growth, and pay, among others.