Skip to main content

LIBR 465: Literature for Children

This course, designed for librarians, supervisors, and teachers in the elementary school, is about the evaluation of books for children aged three through twelve.

Reading Choice List

Reading Choice List

 

Avi. (2003) Don't you know there's a war on? New York, NY: HarperCollins. 

Benjamin, A. (2015). The thing about jellyfish. New York, NY: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. [Get this from MeLCat]

Burkinshaw, K. (2016) The last cherry blossom. New York, NY: Sky Pony Press. [Get this from MeLCat]

Coles, R. (1995). The story of Ruby Bridges. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Coville, B. (1997). The skull of truth. New York, NY: Harcourt Books.

Creech, S. (1994). Walk two moons. New York, NY: HarperCollinsPublishers.

Creech, S. (2001). Love that dog. New York, NY: Joanna Cotler Books.

Curtis, C. P. (1995). The Watsons go to Birmingham, 1963. New York, NY: Yearling.

Curtis, C. P. (1999). Bud, not Buddy. New York, NY: Random House.

Curtis, C. P. (2007). Elijah of Buxton. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Curtis, C. P. (2012). The mighty Miss Malone. New York, NY: Wendy Lamb Books.

DiCamillo, K. (2000). Because of Winn Dixie. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press.

Gantos, J. (1998). Joey Pigza swallowed the key. New York, NY: Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Haddix, M. P. (1995). Running out of time. New York, NY: Simon & Schuster Books.

Hesse, K. (1997). Out of the dust. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Hickox, R. (1999). The golden sandal: A Middle Eastern Cinderella story. New York, NY: Holiday House.

Holm, J.L. (2010). Turtle in paradise. New York, NY: Random House. 

Hutchins, H. (2007). A second is a hiccup. New York, NY: Arthur A. Levine Books.

Kadohata, C. (2006). Weedflower. New York, NY: Atheneum Books for Young Readers.

Lavine, K. (2007). Hana’s suitcase. Morton Grove, IL: Albert Whitman & Company.

Law, I. (2011). Scumble. New York, NY: Puffin Books. 

Lord, C. (2010). Touch blue. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Louie, A. (1982). Yeh-Shen: A Cinderella story from China. (Illus. by Ed Young). New York, NY: Putnam & Grosset.

Lowry, L. (1989). Number the stars. New York, NY: Houghton Mifflin.

Lupica, M. (2010) The Batboy. New York, NY: Puffin Books. [Get this on MeLCat]

Matas, C. (1993). Daniel’s story. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Matas, C. (1999). Greater than angels. New York, NY: Simon Pulse.

McKissack, P. C. (1997). A picture of freedom: The diary of Clotee, a slave girl. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Morrison, T. (2004). Remember: The journey to school integration. New York, NY: Houghton Mifflin Company.

Perrault, C. (1954). Cinderella. (Trans. & Illus. by Marcia Brown). New York, NY: Scribner.

Palacio, R.J. (2012). Wonder. New York, NY: Alfred A. Knopf. [Get this on MeLCat]

Polacco, P. (1994). Pink and Say. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Ryan, P. M. (2002). When Marian sang: The true recital of Marian Anderson. New York, NY: Scholastic.

Salisbury, G. (2005). Under the blood-red sun. New York, NY: Random House Children's Books. 

Spinelli , J. (1990). Maniac Magee. New York, NY: Little Brown and Company.

Spinelli, J. (2005). Milkweed. New York, NY: Random House.

Swinburne, S. R. (2006). Wings of light: The migration of the yellow butterfly. New York, NY: Boyds Mills Press

Tan, S. (2006). The arrival. New York, NY: Arthur A. Levine Books.

Taylor, M. D. (1976). Roll of thunder, hear my cry. New York, NY: Puffin.

Taylor, S. (2006). Hugging the rock. Berkeley, CA: Tricycle Press. 

Varon, S. (2007). Robot dreams. New York, NY: First Second.

Woodson, J. (2001). The other side. (Illus. by E. B. Lewis). New York, NY: G. P. Putnam’s Sons.

Yolen, J. (1990). Devil’s arithmetic. New York, NY: Penguin Group, Inc.

Finding Children's Books

Children's books in the Mardigian Library catalog:

Juvenile Historic Collection - The Mardigian Library has over 8,000 children's books in its collection. Approximately half of the collection is comprised of historic juvenile titles. There are several ways you can locate these titles:

  • Browse our collection in person. The historic titles have a green dot on the spine.
  • View information about our Juvenile Historic special collection on the library's web site or through the College of Education, Health and Human Services guide to the Quigley Collection.The largest donation to this collection was made by the Grand Rapids Public Library and is called the May G. Quigley Collection.
  • Go to the library catalog keyword search screen, type in a search word or two, and limit the location to Juvenile Historic.

CEHHS Curriculum Lab - You can look up books in the curriculum lab using the library catalog by choosing the location CEHHS Curriculum Center.

MeLCat - Search for items from other Michigan libraries

Interlibrary Loan Information

UM-Ann Arbor and Flint Libraries

Dearborn Public Library - has an extensive collection of children's literature. Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Dearborn is eligible for a free library card.

 

University of Michigan - Dearborn Logo
  • 4901 Evergreen Road
    Dearborn, MI 48128, USA
  • Phone: 313-593-5000
  • Contact us