BIOL/ESCI 304 - Ecology

Data and publications designed to contribute to the conservation of biodiversity, especially rare and declining plants and animals, and the diversity of ecosystems native to Michigan. Data includes maps and descriptions of Michigan species. Several of the publications are available for free online.

Encyclopedia of Life includes text, video, sound, images, and graphics and aims to document the species known to science.

Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Includes thousands of species accounts about individual animal species.

Comprehensive life histories for the 716 species of birds breeding in the U.S.A. (including Hawaii) and Canada. Includes photos, maps, audio clips, and video clips.

Free online tools to identify species, share ways to teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from a growing, interactive encyclopedia of life that now has 1.3 million species pages.

Searchable database of 33,400 species, 318,900 common names, and 57,800 pictures of fish from around the world.

Covers 174 fish and a mobile app is available.

An app that uses visual recognition software to identify tree species from photographs of their leaves.

The Plant Encyclopedia contains woody (trees, shrubs, vines, ground covers) and herbaceous plants (annuals, biennials, perennials), including weeds and house plants. Pronunciation of the Latin name, and extensive plant data and images are included for each plant.
[Note: This site is no longer active; the link takes you to the Nov. 8, 2016 version of the site on the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.]

Covers 33 species (from Michigan DNR).

Covers the eastern and central United States as well as the western United States and an iPhone app is available (from the Arbor Day Foundation).