Please fill out this Google Form if you have any suggestions for resources to be included in this collection.
Below are some recommended databases for you to start your own research. These databases provide access to journal articles, book chapters, news articles, and more related to the study of the Middle East.
BrillOnline Reference Works - Searchable and browsable books and encyclopedias covering over three centuries of scholarly publishing from around the world. "Brill offers primary source material as collections in multiple subject areas. Many of our primary source collections are unique, as they are often the only source of rare documents outside of the source library itself." Within this database we recommend:
Ethnic NewsWatch - "Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives."
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981 - This collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power during the 1970s. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.
Index Islamicus - References to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes not only publications about the Middle East, but also the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.
The Jerusalem Post Historical - Digitized version of the English-language daily The Jerusalem Post, 1932-1988. Covers Israel, the Middle East, and the Jewish World. The Jerusalem Post was called The Palestine Post from 1932 to 1950.
JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present. Our JSTOR collections include journals in economics, history, ecology, mathematics, statistics, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 - More than 137,000 pages of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies - Coverage of the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa including: political affairs and law, international relations, economic affairs - business and industry, cultural heritage, arts and humanities, society and social welfare, ethnic diversity and anthropology, significant religious events and movements, and recent history (1900 - present) and archaeology.
Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers - With a preliminary release of over 100,000 pages from 15 titles, the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection provides access to historical news content with unique insights into the history of individual countries in the Middle East and Northern Africa, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late nineteenth through the mid-twentieth century. Content in MENA Newspapers is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 - Includes a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
ProQuest Research Library - ProQuest Research Library includes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. The broad range of subjects covered includes arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Included are more than 5,060 titles — over 3,600 in full text — from 1971 to the present.
U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 - This comprehensive resource sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, including the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online - Brings together current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world. This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and will be regularly updated.
For a list of news and newspaper sources you can get access to through the library and for free that may cover the Middle East, check out this News & Newspapers Guide!