Depending on your topic these are some but not all of the databases the Mardigian Library subscribes to that will allow you to locate primary resources and materials:
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection - The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe, and India.
19th Century British Library Newspapers - Contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the nineteenth century British society.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers - Includes digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of nineteenth century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement, and illustration.
Accessible Archives - Searchable archive of historic magazines and newspapers, including:
• The Liberator, 1831-1865;
• The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800;
• The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780;
• Godey's Lady's Book, 1830-1898;
• African American Newspapers: the 19th Century; and
• The Civil War, Parts I-IV (Only part I of this series is currently available, the others are forthcoming.)
Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series I - More than 137,000 pages of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-71.
Black Studies Center - A gateway to historical and current material for researching the past, present, and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It combines: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) Full Text, The Chicago Defender historical backfile (1909 - 1975), and Black Literature Index (1827 - 1940).
Declassified Documents Reference System - Full text of declassified Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II. Subjects include foreign relations, the Korean and Vietnam Wars, civil rights movement, assassinations, and more.
Early American Imprints, Series I Evans, 1639-1800 - Page images and searchable full-text of most books and pamphlets published in the U.S./American colonies before 1801. Covers every aspect of American life including history, literature, religion, and foreign affairs. Includes 36,000 titles.
Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 - Provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 - Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820.
Iraq 1914-1974: The Middle East Online, Series II - Includes a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office, and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers - Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles for five major African American community newspapers:
• Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003),
• The Chicago Defender (1909-1975),
• Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005),
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and
• Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
For all titles except The Chicago Defender, one year of additional content is added to the backfile annually. This link takes you to the Library's Newspaper database list and you need to scroll to and select a newspaper from the list.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of the Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985), Chicago Defender (1905 - 1975), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985), New York Times (1851 - 2003), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1989), and the Washington Post (1877 - 1990). This link takes you to the Library's Newspaper database list and you need to scroll to and select a newspaper from the list.
USC Shoah Visual History Archive Online - The Institute for Visual History and Education is dedicated to making audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides a compelling voice for education and action. With a current collection of nearly 52,000 eyewitness testimonies, the Institute’s Visual History Archive preserves history as told by the people who lived it. Each testimony is a unique source of insight and knowledge offering powerful stories from history that demand to be explored and shared. In this way we will be able to see their faces and hear their voices, allowing them to teach, and inspire action against intolerance.
Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive - Dr. Sid Bolkosky, Professor of History at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, has interviewed over 150 survivors of the Nazi Holocaust of the Jews. His interviews with these survivors are recorded on about 330 hours of audio tapes and 60 hours of video tapes. These tapes are being transcribed and entered into the online catalog of the Mardigian Library at the University of Michigan-Dearborn.
Some of the very best databases are these:
Historical Abstracts* - Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2000 journals published from 1954 - present are indexed.
JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present.
ProQuest Research Library - Academic and general articles about a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 to present.
*Note: When and if you link to the above databases and if you are off campus you will first be directed to an authentication screen and once you authenticate you will be able to proceed into the database selected. The links will open up a new browser.
