To locate secondary articles we must first think in terms of what tool will most likely provide the outcome of obtaining such an item.
Whenever you are doing research think in terms of what subject area your topic lies in so that you can locate applicable tools to begin your search for materials. In this case, we are looking for history topics. In order to find article databases dealing with these subjects we can go to the Mardigian Library Homepage. Then locate the following link:
Once you arrive at the databases page select the History subject heading from the list illustrated in the image below:
This will take you to the databases the library recommends using to find materials on history topics.
Some of the very best databases are these:
Historical Abstracts* - Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2000 journals published from 1954 - present are indexed.
JSTOR - Journal articles from core scholarly journals in the liberal arts and sciences. Coverage extends from the first issue of journals included to 3 - 5 years before the present.
ProQuest Research Library - Academic and general articles about a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Covers 1971 to present.
*Note: When and if you link to the above databases and if you are off campus you will first be directed to an authentication screen and once you authenticate you will be able to proceed into the database selected. The links will open up a new browser.
To view this tutorial in the best resolution it is recommended that you view it in a full screen option. To do so once the video begins just click on the screen icon at the far right of the control panel at the bottom of the video. To return to the small version and the LibGuide just remember to click on Esc on your keyboard.
Summon is the libraries' discovery tool for finding everything that is in the collection but this tutorial will explain how to search for just secondary articles that the library has access to on whatever topics that are being searched for.
The new tutorial is forthcoming...
Students and Faculty members alike believe the following criteria are good things to keep in mind when evaluating material to determine their level of quality:
1. The material should be from a credible or known or trusted publication like the International Journal of Middle East Studies or American Historical Review if you are looking for scholarly material.
2. The material should be without bias. The material should not favor one position or the other but rather state facts and possibly multiple positions.
3. The material should be authored by professionals, experts, and credentialed individuals. Does the author work in the trade? Does the author teach in the discipline? Does the author hold a Ph.D.?
4. The material should be researched and verifiable. Does the material show evidence of research and include a bibliography of the author's research? If there is no depth of research can the material be checked for accuracy? Does the author point to anything that can be checked?
5. Is the material peer-reviewed? This type of material is the gold standard for information on a topic. This is:
A. Research or commentary submitted to a publication like Journal of Palestine Studies
B. That is then sent to other experts in the discipline to review the material for
C. Accuracy and other criteria matching that publication and
D. When and if the material meets that publication's standards it will be published and then considered a credible resource because it went through such a strict process before publication.
6. The material should be current. Material considered to be current is less than five years old unless you are looking for things for an historical perspective.
7. The material needs to be readable. The language within the material cannot be too jargony.
These are some useful tips for successful searching within every single search tool on Earth:
1. Think positive,
2. Simplify terminology,
3. Understand the type of search you are conducting, i.e, is the search a keyword or subject search as this does matter,
4. Browse return list to pinpoint key terminology and then incorporate that into new searches,
5. Try multiple search tools,
6. Never give up,
7. When in doubt consult a Reference Librarian
