Subject Guides: Advanced Psychology Research Guide: Find Datasets

Nadine Anderson, Behavioral Sciences and Women's & Gender Studies Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

4021 CASL/1153B ML
nfanders@umich.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Behavioral and Biological Sciences, Criminal Justice, Faculty Resources, Food Studies, Integrative Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Psychology, Sociology, Women's & Gender Studies

American Psychological Association Advice

More Data, Less Hassle: Researchers share tips on collecting data more efficiently

Information Gold Mines: Large-scale databases are free, acesssible and provide great research data

Ready, set—collect!: Experts offer advice on how to make your IRB approval, participant recruitment and data collection go smoothly

Finding Datasets

Sage dataplanet (library database): Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing. Check out their Search FAQs and Search Guides for help finding datasets in this database.

American Psychological Association (APA) List of Datasets and Repositories: an annotated list of datasets and institutional repositories on the American Psychological Association website.

Datasets and Repositories

ICPSR (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Sciences Research): maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR is a unit within the University of Michigan Institute for Social Research and its office is in Ann Arbor. UM-Dearborn is one of ICPSR's 760 member institutions. Check out their Overview & Mission page for more information.

Go to ICPSR's Help Page for FAQs and videos about using ICPSR
To download and upload data, you need to login to the site via MyData, even if you're from a member institution. To create a MyData account:
- go to the Login to ICPSR site
- scroll down to the New User? heading and click on Create Account
Contact ICPSR with your questions by email at ICPSR-help@umich.edu or by phone at 734-647-2200

NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics): Provides datasets and statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of Americans.

Use the summary of NCHS Surveys and Data Collection systems to identify and access relevant datasets.
FastStats: provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health and is organized alphabetically
NHANES (National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey): a program of studies assessing the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the US. Take a look at these Tutorials for more help and information on using NHANES.

ODUM UNC Dataverse Network: Datasets for a wide variety of Behavioral and Social Science studies.

PEW Social and Demographic Trends: Datasets from studies of behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA): The lead federal government agency for behavioral health data and research, SAMHDA provides current behavioral health data, research, and reports. Check out their About Us page and Mission page for more information. To get help with your questions or request data, check out their FAQs page or use their Contact Us form.